Rainbow Snippets 02/12

 

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To see what others are sharing this week follow the link at the bottom of the this post.

First let me share a special Rainbow Snippet with you this week.

happy-book-birthdaylove-unlocked

Tuesday will mark the book birthday of the award-winning Love Unlocked Anthology which features my story, Locked in the Moment, among others far more amazing.

Published by Beaten Track Publishing, Love Unlocked contains seven stories based around the fate of the lovers whose locks were removed from the famous love lock bridge, in Paris in 2015. Each story is a unique take on what happens after the locks are removed. When I say unique, I really do mean each story is completely different. The only thing linking them together is the theme of love locks, otherwise, anything goes.

They are all LGBTQ+,  with something for everyone, from M/M to F/F, fantasy, humor, drama, despair, angst, love and of course, happy endings (mostly).

My own story tells the tale of the Sol the Troll who lives beneath the bridge, and what happens to him when he decides to take matters into his own hands and do something about the noise of all those padlocks clanging together on the bridge above his home. He discovers there are consequences to his actions, both alarming and pleasant as he encounters Lucien, the bright, gregarious, fiercely loyal fairy, who helps him when no one else seems to want to.

My snippet is the moment when Sol and Lucien meet. Sol has decided to emerge above ground after many decades in hibernation (or at least he was trying to hibernate. The locks keep waking him up). Lucien is waiting for him.

“Is there anything I can help you with, Monsieur Troll?” This fairy just won’t give up.

“Nuffing, fanks.” I grunt and then turn my back. He’ll get the message.

He doesn’t get the message.

“Ah, but I am forgetting my manners.” He rolls his sparkling eyes that are framed by thick auburn lashes. “Allow me to introduce myself. Je m’appelle Lucien.” And now he’s speaking to me in French. This is going to be interesting. “Would you like some of my ice cream?”

I wish he’d make his bloody mind up about what language he’s going to speak. At least he speaks decent Troll-English, but only doing it when he feels like it is a bit irritating really.

I regard his ice cream with curiosity. I haven’t tasted ice cream before. I wonder what it’s like. Why’s he offering me some of his? What’s his game? I narrow my eyes in suspicion.

“No!” I refuse abruptly, withdrawing my claws, which had reached out to take the tiny spoon he offered me.

To see what others are sharing this week on Rainbow Snippets click here.

untitled (34)

 

eBook Giveaway

Exciting news. I have a giveaway on my Facebook page, just click here to find out how to get your grubby troll claws on a free copy of the entire Love Unlocked anthology to celebrate its 1st book birthday. Comment on the pinned post. Don’t forget to like my page, follow me on Twitter etc.

To see what other awesome, incredible, award-winning books are available from Beaten Track Publishing, click here

logo-1

 

 

8 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 02/12

Leave a Reply

