Rainbow Snippets 02/25

Love inside the Rainbow

I missed a week. Real life is far too busy at the moment. Every weekend seems to be triple booked at the minute.

Here is my Rainbow Snippet contribution for this week. It’s from my WIP involving the head teacher and his newly appointed head of drama, and there’s plenty of drama, believe me.

In this snippet Jules and Tristan have been trying to avoid each other.They have their reasons. Reasons they have not explained to Jules’s seventeen year old daughter, and she is making it very difficult for them by inviting Tristan over for dinner.

What the hell is she doing asking Tristan over for dinner? Is she mad?

Of course, she has absolutely no clue why this would be a terrible idea and before either Tristan or I can say anything she has answered for us.

“Dinner will take about twenty minutes to cook. Plenty of time for you to go and get changed, Tristan.” She seems to have thought of every possible excuse either of us could make. “We’re watching a movie afterwards. You can bring dessert.”

She isn’t even looking at us as she casually arranges our evening. She’s searching through her bag for something.

Tristan glances at me and I see the look of utter despair and helplessness. The look that says: “what the fuck, Jules?”. I shrug, feeling equally as helpless. I can see he is thinking the same thing I am: It’s surely easier to accept, and suffer through the awkwardness, than to explain to Amy why we have been actively avoiding each other.

“Sorry!” I mouth, with a grimace.

Tristan closes his eyes and shakes his head in resignation.

“Sure, Amy. That’d be great.”

Is it only me that hears the trepidation in his voice?

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To find out what others are sharing this week over on the Rainbow Snippet page click here.

In case anyone missed it, I have a book giveaway over on my face book page. Just follow and comment on the pinned post.

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 02/25

Leave a Reply

