Rainbow Snippets 01/29

yeavering-bell

Hi everyone. Here’s another snippet from my current WIP.

I’ve been kind of introducing characters over the last few weeks. Jules is the main character, from whose point of view the story is told. Last week you saw Tristan make an appearance.

This week it is the turn of another character who plays an important role in Jules’ life: his daughter, Amy.

In this snippet, Amy, who is a student in the high school where Jules is head teacher, discusses her first impression of Tristan.

The students disperse, but one of them remains, a seventeen year old girl I know very well. She lingers by the door as I gather some papers and generally tidy my desk.

“He’s a bit nice, isn’t he, that Mr Gilman?” The girl, says, a smirk on her face.

“You are not allowed to speak about teachers in that way, Amy McPherson.” I regard her over the top of my glasses. “It is very unprofessional.”

Amy shrugs, pushes herself away from the door frame and perches herself on the edge of my desk.

“I’m just saying what everyone else was thinking, including you, judging by the colour of your cheeks, dad.” She pokes at my face playfully and I nudge her hand away with fake irritation.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about, daughter mine.” I try to act nonchalant, but inside I am groaning, my stomach churning. Was I that obvious?

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

In this group you’ll find anything from romance and historical fiction to mystery and YA. The common thread is that every story’s main character identifies as LGBTQ+. The snippets could range from zero flames to full-on sexytimes, anything goes content-wise. The only rule is snippets will be 6 sentences long–one for each color in the Pride flag.

To find out what others are posting in this group click here.

 

6 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 01/29

Leave a Reply

