Rainbow Snippets 06/25

flower-302889_1920

Here we are again.  This week seems to have flown by, although not for any terribly good reason.  As far as bad weeks go it certainly hasn’t been the worst week.  as far as the future economy of the UK it’s been a disaster.  Just over half of the British people voted to leave the EU.

I’m not one for political ramblings, but, my God.  What the hell? It’s anyone’s guess what will happen next.  Already a lot of people who voted “leave” have expressed their regret.  They give many, stupid, uneducated reasons for voting leave, and have since googled what it means for us to be part of the European Union (it was the biggest trending Google search in the UK the day after the referendum). It’s a pity they didn’t do that a day earlier. Heaven help us now.

This is one of the reasons I write:  I need an escape from the utter ludicrousness of the real world.  Whatever is happening in real life, at least I have some control over what happens in the world I create with my words.

Something nice did happen this week, and although it did not involve me it was rather uplifting and reminded me that the world isn’t entirely bad.  It’s a video, I won’t give you spoilers, but it was something that happened at London Pride. click here for something to make you smile.

Meanwhile, here is my contribution to the Rainbow Snippets group this week.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

Another snippet from my WIP, Genie, is the order of the day I think.

 

The Prince was waiting patiently with the rest of Jayce’s family.  He did indeed look far less sure of himself this morning.  He was dressed very differently as well.  He had discarded his dark clothing, meant for stealth and sneaking about in dark corridors, for something far more flamboyant.  His shirt was a shiny red satin that contrasted strikingly with his pale skin and even paler hair.  He had his hands clasped in front of him on the table and he appeared to have brightly painted, polished nails.  The overall effect was not unlike the man that stood by Jayce’s side.  He obviously dressed to be noticed.

“My goodness.” Tobrin exclaimed silently inside Jayce’s head. “I appear to have a rival.”

 

To find out what others are sharing this week nip over to the Rainbow Snippets facebook page by clicking here

To read more about Tobrin and Jayce there is a longer snippet here that I shared a few weeks ago.

If you are interested in reading any of my other stuff click here.

Have a nice week everyone.

7 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 06/25

Leave a comment