Rainbow Snippet 04/30

Camp-2017-Winner-Facebook-Cover

Is it the end of April already?

I finished Camp NaNoWriMo, despite being so busy in real life I didn’t know whether I was coming or going. I’m not sure anything of those 50,000 words are going to be of any use whatsoever. I always end up rewriting everything, but I suppose that’s the point. It’s a motivation to get the words down in the first place. Sorting them out is for next month.

That’s what I’m going to be doing in May, then.

Here is my Snippet for this week. It’s from my age gap romance between Jules, the head teacher, and Tristan, his enigmatic and newest member of staff. It’s less than an hour since the beginning of term. Tristan and Jules have just met properly for the first time and the setting is Accident and Emergency. Don’t even ask!

I turn to meet Tristan’s eye. He is grinning like a Cheshire Cat. Of course he is. He just manipulated me into staying with him. He got exactly what he wanted, but at what expense? Sarah now thinks we’re some sort of couple. Why would she even come to that conclusion?

Well, maybe it has something to do with the fact Tristan is still holding my hand so tight, I’m in danger of losing some fingers.

“You needn’t worry, I’m not leaving, Tristan, so I’d quite like to keep my hand intact, if you don’t mind.”

Make of that what you will.

Congrats to anyone who may have taken part in Camp NaNo this month. It’s a toughie, getting words down, and any words, even if you didn’t meet your goal, are better than none. There’s still a few hours left in my time zone, so keep writing guys. You can do it.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To see what others are sharing this week click here to go to the Rainbow Snippets Facebook page.

I’d just like to add a shameless plug and another link for you, which will take you to Beaten Track Publishing. They have had some awesome releases this month. Get over there and take a look.

logo-1

4 responses to “Rainbow Snippet 04/30

Leave a Reply

