Rainbow Snippets 03/19

untitled (34)

Good lord, has it been two weeks since I posted? Where did that time go?

Posting last week would have been impossible. Real life got in the way, big time. Saturday night was spent in the company of 200 Guides (that’s Girl Scouts, for those of you across the pond), on a sleep over at our local science museum. It was fun, but sleepover really is a misnomer. This was a “Stay-awake-and-let’s-see-how-many-times-we-can-go-to-the-toilet-in-one-night” over. followed by “Let’s-see-how-much-junk-food-we-can-eat-at-our-midnight-feast-then-be-surprised-when-we-feel-sick-at-4am”. I, and the other brave adult leaders who made this event possible by giving up their time and their sleep, perhaps got about twenty minutes shut-eye between us. I was knackered the next day.

My snippet this week is from my age-gap WIP, involving Jules, the head teacher, and Tristan, his newest member of staff. In this section, after receiving a tearful phone call from Tristan at one in the morning, Jules has dragged himself out of bed and picked him up outside a night club. This obviously goes above and beyond the call of duty for a head teacher towards his staff but Tristan is a special case. The story is told from Jules’ point of view.

I toy with the idea of reaching across and touching his arm gently, just to reassure him, but after the way he flinched just now and the way his entire body tensed when I was trying to help him with the seat belt, the fear of making things worse has me keeping my hands to myself.

I want to ask what the hell is going on, why he is in such a state, but I know now is not the time, or the place and it will be up to him whether or not he tells me, anyway. I may not ever get to know, it’s certainly not my right. I do hope he’ll confide in me at some point. He must know I’ll listen. I’m his friend, before anything else I might wish to be.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To find out what others are posting this week, click here to find the Rainbow Snippet Facebook group.

Hope you enjoyed my snippet. I’m off to read everyone else’s now. Feel free to follow me on Twitter, Facebook and of course here on my blog.

7 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 03/19

  1. Oh, been there and done that with the Girl Scouts thing. We did an overnight at the aquarium last year with similar results.

    Jules and Tristan seem to have a rather…unusual…relationship for a head teacher and staff member! I cannot imagine the boss-man at the school where I used to work doing any such thing for us, ever.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

