Rainbow Snippets 01/22

Lock 4b

My apologies, folks.

I promised, the week before last, to introduce you to Tristan from my new WIP, Term of Living Dangerously. I forgot, but then, this is just like Tristan: to be late.

Here he is turning up late for his first day as a teacher at Jules’ school (seen from Jules POV).

Background to Snippet

Despite trying to convince himself, all summer, that he hasn’t, Jules has actually been anticipating Tristan Gilman’s first day with something akin to a kid at Christmas, waiting for Santa.

When Tristan eventually turns up, a day late, Jules finally finds something about Tristan that he does not like.

Tristan makes his appearance and my heart skips a beat. I have to take a deep breath to get it all under control. Then I take a closer look at the man currently fighting his way through a sea of students trying to find their way to classes. He stands out like a sore thumb, and not in a good way at all.

What the hell is he wearing? He’s a school teacher, not a travelling hippy. For god’s sake, if I was looking for something less positive and distracting to focus on that wasn’t his good looks, great hair or striking blue eyes, then his dress sense leaves something to be desired. I may be more relaxed than most head teachers when it comes to school dress code, but a tatty T shirt with dubious, bordering on obscene, wording, and ripped jeans that look like they’ve been worn constantly for at least a week, is a bit beyond the pail.

I don’t care how damn sexy he looks, no one comes to my school, student or teacher, dressed like that.

“Georgia.” I press my intercom and call my secretary using my most professional tone. “Would you please ask Mr. Gilman to step into my office.”

Uh oh, Jules has his Head Teacher head well and truly in place today.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

In this group you’ll find anything from romance and historical fiction to mystery and YA. The common thread is that every story’s main character identifies as LGBTQ+. The snippets could range from zero flames to full-on sexytimes, anything goes content-wise. The only rule is snippets will be 6 sentences long–one for each color in the Pride flag.

To find out what others are posting on their blogs this week, click here.

9 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 01/22

Leave a Reply

