Rainbow Snippets 01/14

tynemouth-pier

North Pier and Lighthouse at Tynemouth, during the tidal surge yesterday

There’s been an awful lot of weather happening out there in the world this week. Along the East coast of England there was a tidal surge. Luckily, although I live right on the coast, we are quite high up, so we saw and heard the waves, and even felt them because we’re so close, but we did not have to evacuate. Many people did though.

The photo above was taken yesterday during high tide by a good friend of mine, Simon, who braved the weather to get the perfect picture. Believe me, this is not a usual sight, whilst the waves often crash over the pier itself, they rarely swamp the lighthouse.

Whilst yesterday we had snow and tidal surges. Today was a very different story. The saying goes: If you don’t like the weather in England, then wait a minute. Today has been beautiful blue skies and hardly a wave out to sea.

My snippet this week is from my new WIP, an age gap romance.  I have a working title now and a few more lines to share.

Title: The Term of Living Dangerously.

Background to the snippet: Jules is rendered almost speechless when he first meets Tristan, which is a little embarrassing since Jules is the headteacher conducting an interview and Tristan is the candidate. Luckily, for poor, smitten, Jules, he has several other members of staff on the interview panel with him.

Dave is wearing a triumphant grin as he returns from showing Tristan out.

“I think we’ve just found ourselves a head of drama.” He announces.

I want to agree with him wholeheartedly, but the truth is, if I open my mouth I think I might just squeak. I think I’m recovering from some sort of fugue.

“I agree.” Suzy replies instead when I don’t immediately respond. “I know he has the student panel to contend with now, but I don’t see any problem. There is no way Tristan Gilman won’t charm the socks off them.” She gives her hair an exaggerated flick making the others on the panel chuckle. “He’s certainly charmed my socks off.”

“You weren’t wearing any socks in the first place.” Dave points out, pedantic as always. “What about you, Jules?”

What is Dave asking me? I can’t remember. I’m sitting here in a bloody daze. God, I need to get my shit together and not let on that Tristan Gilman certainly charms me enough to take, not only my socks off but everything else as well.

“I’m wearing socks, yes, and they’re still on my feet, thank you very much.” I say far too defensively, earning me a strange look from Suzy, the kind that tells me I will be grilled extensively by my deputy head when we are alone.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To see what others are sharing this week click here.

I hope the weather has settled for everyone, and for those of you that have had lots of snow, give thought for us poor cretins with sledges in our attics that haven’t been used for years because we haven’t had a decent snowfall since 2010. Boooo!

Stay warm, everybody.

And because I’m shameless, let me just remind you that my story, Locked in the Moment along with the seven others that make up the Love Unlocked Anthology, is available for download from Beaten Track Publishing. The anthology is a Rainbow Awards runner up. Not bad eh? Click here and here.

beaten-track-radio-logo

Don’t forget to tune in to Beaten Track Radio for great music and author chats. Find out more and how to listen by clicking here

14 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 01/14

  1. That picture is lovely, although I’m sure it was frightening up close! We have that same weather saying in Missouri! 🙂

    LOVE this snippet! After that reaction it’s no wonder he ends up volunteering to help the guy assemble furniture. (Am I remembering right from last week?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that weather was scary. The first time I have felt the need to tell my kids to stay away from the sea front because it was splashing over onto the road at the bottom of our street.
      The furniture assembly does take part after this, yes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I cannot WAIT to read this story! Bloody awesome snippet. Man, that weather. We didn’t get it anywhere near as bad on the NW coast, thank goodness, although there is something magical about the tempestuous North Sea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

