Rainbow Snippets 01/08

aurora

Happy New Year, everybody. I hope everyone had a calm and pleasant holiday season.  My first post of the new year is a new WIP.

I know, I haven’t finished with Toby and Raphael, but they are on hold while I work on something for a submission call.

I particularly enjoy writing age gap stories.  The age gaps in my recent stories have ranged from a few years all the way up to a couple of thousand (That would be Sol and Lucien, in Locked in the Moment). This new WIP involves an age gap.  The submission is calling for at least one character of 50+ years.

With this in mind, allow me to introduce you to Jules McPherson. He’s fifty two, a head teacher in a British high school, and has an eighteen year old daughter named Amy. Jules has just employed a new English teacher named Tristan.  I’ll introduce you to Tristan next week, I think. By happy coincidence, because you can do this when you’re writing the story, not only are Jules and Tristan work colleagues, they are also neighbours.

Jules

I spent the rest of the evening helping Tristan assemble flat pack furniture.  Two sets of shelves, a wardrobe, two bedside tables, a dining table and chairs and a couple of beers later, I eventually stumbled back across the street.

I crept into the house like an errant teenager, carrying my shoes and trying not to disturb the actual teenager in the house.  The scenario was quite ludicrous.  Amy had woken up despite my efforts, and I was startled to find her watching me from the top of the stairs, her arms folded and her lips pursed.

“Have a good time, did you?” She asked, sounding disturbingly like my mother.  She’d then given me a hug and gone back to bed.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To find out what everyone else is sharing this week click here.

For links to my stories, Locked in the Moment and Eagle Man and Mister Hawk and other awesome and diverse fiction go to Beaten Track Publishing. Click here for my list, and here for the rest of Beaten Track.

Beaten Track also have their own radio station with regular author slots. Find all the listening links on their facebook page here.

beaten-track-radio-logo   logo-1

11 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 01/08

Leave a Reply

