Rainbow Snippets 12/18

christmas-snowflakes

Hi, this will be my last post of the year.  The next two weekends will be rather busy I expect.

An amazing thing happened just last week.  Love Unlocked, the anthology that contains my story, Locked in the Moment, won a Rainbow Award.  It was awarded third place for best anthology.  This happened on my birthday as well, which was a nice surprise. Congrats to everyone who won, and special congrats to Beaten Track authors who are all so awesome. I feel humbled to have been part of this amazing project.

My snippet this week is from my WIP with the working title “The Angel and the Magpie”.

Enjoy.

“Wilf’s heart is in the right place, but sometimes he opens his mouth before he’s engaged his brain and he gets himself into real trouble.” Raphael gave a slightly amused grimace. “Mostly from his wife.”

“Oh dear.” Toby grimaced as well, then met Raphael’s eye and they both burst out laughing which set off Toby’s cough. “Gawd, I ain’t coughed all day, I swear.”

“I know.” Raphael said, feeling concerned as he rubbed Toby’s back. “I noticed.”

Toby met his eye again and smiled softly. “Thanks.”

“For what?” Raphael was genuinely surprised by Toby’s gratitude.

“For noticing.” Toby shrugged and watched Raphael’s hand as he withdrew it, as if he wished the contact to continue, or perhaps couldn’t understand why it had been initiated in the first place. “Usually people  don’t, y’know, notice, and they definitely don’t wanna touch, unless they want…” Toby stopped, his expression stricken.  He bit his lip, looking away in embarrassment before getting down from the high stool and struggling the few steps to the kitchen door. “I’m gonna go and lie down, I think.”

He made a hasty exit before Raphael could react or comment.

I say this is my last post of the year, but I really mean it’s my last Rainbow Snippet of 2016. I do have a post scheduled over on Bike Book Reviews for their Coffee, Tea and Christmas Traditions event taking place right now.  Hop on over there to read about the Christmas traditions of all the authors taking part in the event.  I’m not sure when mine will be posted, but the event lasts until 26th December and my post will include a giveaway of Locked in the Moment which I can now say is part of an award winning anthology.  (oh god, that’s so cool).

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To find out what others are posting this week click here.

I’d like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year. Enjoy the next two weeks however you celebrate the holidays.  See you all next year.

9 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 12/18

Leave a Reply

