Rainbow Snippets 12/04

rainbow-trees

Happy Birthday to Rainbow Snippets.  It’s always tough having a December birthday, I think.  Christmas stuff seems to happen earlier and earlier, doesn’t it?

It was my dad’s birthday on Saturday and we had a hard time finding a gift bag that didn’t have a Christmas theme.  My birthday is also this week.  It’s tradition that we don’t put up our tree until the day after my birthday.  When I was younger, this meant that we were the first in our street to have a Christmas Tree.  Now, it means we are the last in our entire town, almost.  It makes us look like real Scrooges, but we’re really not.

Rainbow Snippets in Advent.  I’m not very good at writing at this time of year.  I’m full of busy in real life (not just because of all the birthdays in our family this month), but this story seems to be taking on a life of its own so here is another snippet from my WIP “The Angel and the Magpie”.

Raphael’s house guest, Toby, came to stay under unusual circumstances.  In this snippet, Raphael’s parents are eager to meet their son’s unexpected visitor.

“My mum and dad have invited themselves over for dinner tomorrow night.  I haven’t agreed yet.  I thought I’d better ask you first.”

“Me?” Toby was astounded that Raphael would even consider him.

“Of course, since it’s you dad wants to meet, but if you’re not feeling up to it….”

“Why does he want to meet me?” Toby felt a little tendril of fear and apprehension wrap itself around his stomach.

Raphael smiled apologetically. “Because he wants to make sure you’re not an axe murderer.  Apparently his son’s or his wife’s word and the word of the vicar, and the church warden and everyone else in the village is not enough.  He wants to see for himself.”

“Oh lord.” Toby muttered. “I hope I don’t disgrace myself by accidentally murdering someone with the axe I’ve been keeping up my sleeve this whole time, then.”

Raphael laughed out loud, patting Toby’s shoulder. “You’ll be fine.  My dad isn’t the one to worry about.  It’s my cooking you should fear.”

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).  To find out what others are posting this weeks click here.

Don’t forget to check out my holiday short available free from Smashwords.

Ben is meeting his boyfriend in the worst place on earth on Christmas Eve, especially when you hate Christmas: The Children’s Toy Department. Stephan has a surprise for him. Ben also hates surprises. What can Stephan do to change Ben’s grumpy outlook on this most cheerful of Holidays?

bbb16601d6a3822cda080d5ad8aa2a38

7 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 12/04

Leave a Reply

