Rainbow Snippets 11/05

weather-scottish-b_3549045k

 

A horrid, freezing November day today in the North East of England today.  It’s what we would call driech.

Here’s something I posted on Facebook to mark the occasion:

Oh the weather outside is frightening,

So I’m doing me some writing.

My word count’s no longer low.

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

So it may not be quite snowing properly yet, but there’s definitely been some hail and freezing rain, and the odd flake of snow in the form of sleet.  Hence the frosty signpost.

What direction did my day take in the face of this horrid weather?

I stayed in bed and wrote.  I’m taking part in NaNoWriMo, as I have for the last four years.    Somehow I have always managed to reach the fifty thousand word goal but haven’t done anything with the stories I’ve begun.  This will be my fifth attempt and I am determined this time to finish this story.

I got my word count up to almost 12,000 today, so the weather has been a godsend, keeping me in and forcing me to write.

I have had help in the form of a rather exciting project that Beaten Track Publishing have launched this weekend.  Beaten Track Radio is an on line radio station with the goal of forcing us authors out of our author caves and talking about stories, sharing favourite music and basically having a bit of fun with a mic.  (Okay, stop, those of you who had naughty thoughts. Not that type of fun).

Beaten Track Radio has gone live and you can listen to the awesome music and shows that they have lined up.  Here is the link to listen online.  You can also listen via apps on android or ios.  You might even hear my dulcet tones.

beaten-track-radio-logo

So, now to my snippet.  Fresh from my NaNo project, working title “The Angel and the Magpie”. I think I may have shared some of this story before.  It’s getting a revamp and some major plot reworking, but the basic story is staying the same.

Raphael and Toby are from very different walks of life and different parts of the country (UK).  They are both having very bad days, and their bad days are about to collide in a spectacular way.  These are the last lines I wrote today.

“Don’t worry about feedin’ me, Raph.” Toby called from the other side of the door, after a moment’s pause. “You’ve already done enough lettin’ me stay last night and letting me use your bathroom.  You’ve got no idea how grateful I am.  I’ll get out of your hair as soon as I’ve finished in here.” 

“Oh, er, I’m really sorry, Toby,” Raphael grimaced.  He needed an excuse to keep the lad from panicking and running off into the snow. He was in no fit state to go anywhere. “I just put all of your clothes, including your shoes in the wash.  I hope I didn’t over step the mark, but they were in a bit of a mess.  It’ll be at least a couple of hours before they’re dry.  You may as well stay until they’re ready and have breakfast while you wait.” And then Raphael would think of some other excuse to keep him over lunch, and dinner, and then another night in a safe, warm bed before making any decisions about what to do next.

“Oh! Thanks.” Toby sounded unsure. 

It was difficult enough having  a conversation with someone you knew through a closed door, but with someone he’d only just met, it was impossible.  Raphael couldn’t tell if Toby was unhappy, afraid, angry or a combination of all three.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To check out what others are sharing this week click here.

Don’t forget that my book Eagle Man and Mister Hawk is available from Beaten Track Publishing for free.  Click here for that.

promotional-banner-4

6 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 11/05

Leave a Reply

