Eagle Man and Mr Hawk

published-by-beaten-track

My new release with Beaten Track Publishing is Eagle Man and Mr Hawk.

The Blurb

Ethan isn’t good at first impressions. His job often gets in the way. It’s his dream job, one which suits Ethan’s big heart to a tee. His chosen career isn’t conducive to forming meaningful relationships, however, and it hasn’t really bothered him until now.

Then Alex appears on the scene… Bookish, shy, but gorgeous Alex, who might be put off by bad first impressions, and who Ethan thinks is quite possibly the most beautiful man he’s ever set eyes on.

Alex’s first impression of Ethan is not a particularly good one. In fact, he thinks the man is a raving lunatic, and their second and third encounter does nothing to change his opinion.

Ethan has his work cut out for him, if he is to pursue any kind of meaningful relationship with the irresistible Alex.

Available in paperback and ebook formats.

An Excerpt

You get two for the price of one since this story is told from two points of view.  the first is from Ethan’s POV. (he’s the Eagle Man of the title) and the second is from Alex (Mr Hawk).

Ethan

 “Donald, I need a box big enough to transport an armadillo, and I need it like yesterday.” I burst into the shop and slam my hands down on the counter. “That thing is driving me fucking crazy. I mean, how hard can it be to get an armadillo to walk in a straight line across a road when they do it every fucking day in the wild? I’ll be glad to see the back of it. Is your heating stuck on high? It’s hot in here.”

Donald is serving someone. I hadn’t noticed. I never do. I get tunnel vision. I can be pretty focused on my own goals. I never really take note of what’s…oh, hello! The guy Donald is serving is…oh my god…he’s hot.

“Hi!” I give him my thousand-watt smile. “New in town?”

His jaw tenses as he slowly looks me up and down. His expression is part disapproving and part bat-shit scared. I can see the whites of his eyes, like a horse about to bolt. No idea why… Oh!

I just remembered what I’m wearing, and why I think it is rather warm in Donald’s Hardware shop, present company excepted.

I’m dressed from head to toe in black and white stripes, and my face is painted to match. It’s the only way I can get that damn zebra to do anything, though. If he thinks I’m another zebra he’ll follow me anywhere. He’s outside right now, attracting the attention of the local school kids. I’ll be getting it in the neck from the Head again, because when the zebra’s parked outside, the kids won’t go in from break.

“Ethan, I’ll be with you as soon as I’ve finished serving…erm…”

“Hawking. Alexander Hawking.” The hot guy in glasses and corduroy pants answers reluctantly, as if he is worried about letting us, or me, know his name. His jaw tenses again as he shoots me an anxious sideways glance.

“…Alex here.” Donald gives ‘Alex’ a reassuring smile, but I see the way he rolls his eyes. Judging by Alex’s tense demeanour, I don’t think he’s reassured at all.

“That’s fine. I’ll just mooch around for what I need.” I back away from the counter, hoping that some distance will put this man at ease, and he won’t take flight before I can get more information about him. “I can’t stop long, though; I’ve left my zebra running.”

 

Alex

 “A zebra? You are pulling my leg, Alex, I mean, really? You’re in Northumberland, not North Africa.”

“Yes, really,” I assure my sister over the phone as I stir some soup on my stove. “Large as life, standing out on the street, coupled to a small two-wheeled cart, with a crowd of kids gathered around it like they were in a petting zoo. And this guy, you should’ve seen him.” I want to laugh when I remember how he’d fallen on his arse, trying to look cool when he most definitely did not look cool at all. I am trying not to laugh, though, since I can’t talk to my sister, stir soup, and collapse in helpless laughter all at the same time. There will be a mishap. “He was dressed as a zebra as well, Liss.”

“No!” Liss is giggling uncontrollably now. My hand shakes as I pour my soup into a bowl. It’s hard not to find the entire business hilarious. I mean who the hell was that guy?

“Straight up, he was. A fleecy zebra onesie, and his face was painted with black-and-white stripes, I swear to God.”

“Is the circus in town?” She snorts. “That’s the only explanation.”

“I thought so, too, but there’s been no leaflets, and the town isn’t big enough to hide a Big Top, I mean it only has about half a dozen streets. It’s hardly a town at all.” I’d searched all over but hadn’t found any evidence that there was a circus, so I’d given in and asked someone. “I asked the man who owns the bookshop, and he just laughed and said, ‘You must have met Ethan.’ That’s it. He didn’t say anything else. The guy must be pretty well known to everyone around here.”

Eagle Man and Mr Hawk is available for download from Beaten Track Publishing in several formats. It is also available in print.  Use the same link.

Alternatively it is also available from Amazon UK, Amazon.com and Smashwords

logo-1

Leave a Reply

