Rainbow Snippets 09/24

promotional-banner-4

Hi guys.  I missed last week.  I’ve been up to my neck in edits, getting my story Eagle Man and Mr Hawk, ready to be re-released with Beaten Track Publishing.

I thought I’d share a snippet from this story.

cropped-cropped-cheviots1.jpg

Eagle Man is set in the North East of England, way up in the Cheviot Hills.  Ethan (Eagle Man of the title) and Alex (Mr Hawk), live in neighbouring valleys.  Their houses are three miles apart, but they are each other’s closest neighbours.  The picture above is one of the inspirations for Ethan’s house.  If you want to see just how remote this place is take a look at Google Earth, College Valley, Northumberland.  Some of the roads only allow a certain number of cars per day.

Before you read the snippet, here’s the blurb:

Blurb

Ethan isn’t good at first impressions. His job gets in the way. His chosen career isn’t conducive to forming meaningful relationships either and it hasn’t really bothered him until now. Then Alex appears on the scene. Bookish and shy, but gorgeous Alex, is a man who might be put off by bad first impressions and who Ethan just might want to form a meaningful relationship with.

And here is this week’s snippet, from Ethan’s point of view.  He’s in the pub and has just had a brief, slightly awkward conversation with Alex.  Alex has left and Ethan is now discussing the situation with his friend, Donald.

“He’s a bit posh, isn’t he?” Donald pulls out the paper that Alex left behind in his haste to leave. “Ooh, and he reads The Times.” He leans close to me with a wide grin. “Not posh at all.”

“There’s nothing wrong with being a bit posh.” I look away with a soft huff. Certainly not when you’re as gorgeous as Alex Hawking.

“Nothing wrong at all when you’re looking for a bit of posh totty,” Don mutters, his nose now buried in Alex’s paper. He’s not averse to a bit of posh reading, then, bloody hypocrite.

I roll my eyes. “He’s not totty, either.” He’s lovely and far too delicate a catch to be labelled as totty.

“Eye candy?” Don nudges me, and I shake my head in disgust.

“No, Don, man. Give it a rest.”

“A bit o’ tail?”

“Not even close.” I snort.

“Hot stuff.”

Oh, well, now he’s talking more sense. I stretch out my hand and waggle it, humming as I consider this last description before nodding.

“Definitely hot stuff,” I admit with an enigmatic smile.

Oh, yeah.  Ethan has it really, really bad.

Eagle Man and Mr Hawk will be available from Beaten Track Publishing in October.  I’ll share the download links soon.  Meanwhile, click here to view all the other awesome books on offer from Beaten Track.

bi-logo

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To check out what others are sharing this week on the Rainbow Snippets facebook group, Click here.

 

 

6 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 09/24

Leave a Reply

