Rainbow Snippets 09/10

promotional-banner-4

UK Meet and Zebra Cosplay

Rainbow snippets has come around again.

I missed last week’s offerings because I was at UK Meet in Southampton having a ball.  It was fun.  More than fun, it was amazing.  I met some awesome people, made some new friends, reaffirmed existing friendships and, because we all write and read in more or less the same genres, I didn’t feel I had to explain myself to anyone.

A big shout out to Suki, Linda and Stevie who put up with my casual snarkiness throughout the weekend.  A massive shout out to the organisers and everyone else who made this weekend so fantastic.

As well as hanging out with friends, I got to fangirl over my favourite authors, so apologies if I came across as nerdy.  I am nerdy all the time, however, so that’s my normal.

UK Meet organisers shared that they’re exhausted after organising six years’ worth of meets and if they don’t have a break next year then they will all implode.  So, the next UK Meet, organised by them, will be 2018.  There are plans afoot to have a gathering, or several, of some sort sometime next year.  Watch this space because I am hoping to be involved in the organising of at least one of them.

My snippet this week comes from my story, Eagle Man and Mr Hawk, which has had a bit of a revamp and will be released soon with Beaten Track Publishing.

In this snippet Alex (Mr Hawk of the title) has phoned his sister and is telling her about his first encounter with Ethan (Eagle Man).

“He was dressed in a fleecy zebra onesie, and his face was painted with black and white stripes, I swear to god.”

“Is the circus in town?” She snorts, “That’s the only explanation.”

“I thought so too, but there’s been no leaflets, and the town isn’t big enough to hide a Big Top, I mean it only has about half a dozen streets.  It’s hardly a town at all.  I asked the man that owns the bookshop and he just laughed and said “you must have met Ethan.”. That’s it.  He didn’t say anything else.  The guy must be pretty well known to everyone around here.”

“So your zebra cross dresser is called Ethan? Nice.”

“He’s not mine, Alicia, and he’s obviously completely crazy.”

“Yeah, but you said he winked at you.”

“And I’m supposed to read what into that?”

The revamped version of Eagle Man and Mister Hawk will be available soon from Beaten Track Publishing.  Click here to browse other awesome titles from BTP.

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To find out what others are sharing this week click here.

Coincidentally, Southampton, for some reason has been invaded by zebras, which fits in with the theme of my snippet, so here is one I found that is quite apt:

cropped-zebra

Have an awesome weekend everyone.  See you all next week.

11 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 09/10

Leave a Reply

