Rainbow Snippets 08/28

Russel's Tall Ship

Tall Ships and Tall Tales

It’s Rainbow Snippet time again.  I hardly found time to look at anyone else’s last week, and I apologise for that. Unfortunately, this week is no less busy for me as I get ready for UK Meet, and get the kids ready for the beginning of school.

I have a sea-going theme going on today, because the Tall Ships Regatta is taking place this weekend, at the Port of Blyth, near where I live.  They leave for Gothenberg, Sweden on Monday in a spectacular parade of sail that I will be able to see from the end of my street.

I will try to get some pics, but I’m not a photographer.  I have a friend who is though, and he took the beautiful picture you see above.

My snippet is from my WIP, Genie.  Jayce and Tobrin have just boarded a ship named The Wave Runner.  Tobrin is proving to be a nervous sailor as they share a moment in the captain’s cabin.

“We’re both fine. Thank the gods.” Jayce tipped his head back onto Tobrin’s shoulder.  His skin tingled as Tobrin’s breath ghosted across it.  It would only take a small turn of his head and he could claim the genie’s lips in a kiss.

The ship gave a lurch and Tobrin jumped up with a gasp.

“W-what’s happening?” He asked looking about him in an almost blind panic.

Jayce reached out to him. “Tobrin, calm down, it’s fine. The ship just loosened its moorings.  The passage downriver will be pretty smooth, I assure you.”

 

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

To see what other Snippeteers are sharing this week click here.

To see more of Russ Dixon’s lovely pictures of the Tall Ships Regatta see them on flickr .

No snippet next week because I’m at UK Meet, with some of you no doubt.  See you then.

10 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 08/28

      • School supply lists are ridiculous! I’m so glad my 8th grader can reuse most of what we bought last year & the year before. Not so much with my 6th grader, since she’s starting at a new school this year. At least they’re finally at the same school.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

