Rainbow Snippets 08/20

IMG_20160811_1705115_rewind

I’m back, did you miss me?

I had a busy few weeks doing nothing as depicted in the picture above (the knee in the foreground is mine).  I’ve been camping, which amounts to a few hours of furious activity pitching tents, then ten days of complete relaxation by a wood fire in the company of good friends.

There was music, laughter, lots of mud and dirty feet.  My hair still smells of wood smoke, even after four washes.  We all had a brilliant time.  Getting back to civilization is always a bit of a culture shock.

I thought I would share a camping snippet from my WIP, Genie. Highly appropriate considering my recent activities.

“Making camp is part of my routine every night, Tobrin, and I happen to like doing it.  I’d feel that something was missing if I hadn’t done it myself.” Jayce flexed his shoulder as he stood. “Excuse me, but I need more firewood.”

Tobrin stood with him, stepping out in front of him and clicking his fingers sharply. “It is done. Master.”

Tobrin stepped away to reveal an extremely neat and well stocked woodpile where Jayce’s meagre stack of sticks and branches had been.  This pile had everything he needed, with uniform lengths of wood ranging from small twigs up to split logs.  It was perfect, text book in fact.  Jayce just stared, open mouthed.  The genie hadn’t even broken a sweat.  He didn’t even have a splinter to show for it, nor a mark on his perfect, creamy skin or white silk one-piece suit.

“That’s just cheating.” Jayce exclaimed in disgust at how easy it had been.  Tobrin snorted.

“In what way is it cheating?  I’m simply using my skills to good advantage.” He leaned close to Jayce with a grin on his face. “I’m a genie, it’s what I do.”

“Yes, alright.” Jayce nodded, with grudging respect. “Very good, but where’s the satisfaction in simply clicking your fingers?”

“Great.” Tobrin flung his arms in the air, stepping around in a circle before facing Jayce again. “You’ve just reduced what I do to a hand gesture and basically called me lazy.”

So who amongst you is a camper?  What would you give to have a genie who could basically click his fingers and set up camp for you?

Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!). To see what others are sharing this week click here.

Have a nice weekend people.

7 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 08/20

  1. Wow, Jayce is truly providing his master with first rate service in trying to see to his every need! It’s amusing, not to mention a strong bit of character development for Tobrin in seeing how much he’s not appreciating it. At all. 🙂 Love the dialogue and the exchange you have between these two in this scene!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d be happy with a stack of wood for camping. With all the basics tended to they can get on to more interesting things than scrounging around for wood. Or maybe scrounge for a different type of “wood”?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t have words for how much I hate camping, LOL. I know, that’s probably some kind of heresy, but it’s the truth. However, I might make an exception if I could bring Tobrin along. Plus, I’m with him–Jayce shouldn’t disrespect his skill like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

