Rainbow Snippets 04/09

untitled (34)

Rainbow Snippets is a facebook group where writers share up to six sentences of a WIP with an LGBTQ+ theme, published work, or piece of writing they have enjoyed reading.

This week, Charlie, who organises the group, mentioned that it is National Cherish an Antique Day in the US.  We have days for everything now.  I take it this means to cherish an object that is an antique and not actually a person.

Then Charlie talks about perhaps focusing on mature characters that we might also cherish.  I have written several stories with an MC that is over forty.  I thought I’d share one of them with you.

Niall, from one of my DRiTC stories, Not a Word, written last year, is forty three and a bit of a recluse.  He works from home and keeps to himself.  He doesn’t get out much and definitely doesn’t go to many parties, for reasons that are very clear in the story.  He professes to be very happy with his life.  He lives quietly, with only his Jack Russell, Zen, for company.  Unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately, depending on your point of view) a new neighbour, Zak, feels that Niall’s life should be a little more exciting and full of noise.  Zak is Niall’s total opposite and is also twenty years his junior.

This particular scene did not make it to the finished story. So it’s a deleted scene, but when I called up my story file, this is the first one that appeared so I thought I’d share it anyway.

A party? What was I thinking? I don’t do parties, but then Zak gave me that look, the one he’s got down pat, that if he had dark brown eyes like Zen, it would be devastating, but with his deep blue ones it damn near knocks me to my knees.

So here I am, sitting with my back pressed as far against the fence between our two back gardens as I possibly can.  If I press any further back I will be in my own garden which is preferable right now, because at least there I’d feel comfortable.  Here I’m like a fucking fish out of water.

So, here are the links.  First don’t forget to check out all the Snippets on the Rainbow Snippets facebook group here.

If you want to read more about Niall and Zak, and of course, Zen.  Then click here.  It’s a free story.  Do leave a review if you enjoy it.

Not a Word

12 responses to “Rainbow Snippets 04/09

    • I’ve known several JRT and none of them were anywhere near being Zen, but when I was searching for a name this one came to me immediately. Zen is the real star of this story because he’s a little dog with a big personality.

      Like

  1. LOL! Yeah, I’m with Niall. I don’t do parties either. And I’m pretty sure that if I were faced with a beautiful person 20 years younger than I am (yikes…that’s half my age!) who showed some interest…well, I’d have my socks knocked off, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

