Meet The Characters 7

With two days to go before Locked in the Moment is released as part of the Love Unlocked Anthology I’d like to share a final excerpt.

This is the part of the story where Sol meets Madame Queen and finds out just how much trouble he is in for “accidentally” unlocking all the locks on his bridge.

Madame Queen turns her attention back to me. She might be little taller than my knee when I’m crouching, but I am still intimidated. She’s a powerful being, despite her diminutive size.

“Troll, do you know what chaos you have created by unlocking all these padlocks?”

“Er, no miss.”

“Madame!” she corrects me. I bite my lip.

“Sorry!” I mumble, looking down at my gnarly great troll feet and shuffling them.

“I knew this was a bad idea, allowing you to remain living under this bridge. I should have had you moved on long ago, when all this started.” She waves her hands over the fallen locks. “I was advised to give you a chance. You were in hibernation. You weren’t causing any problems, you were minding your own business.” She glares at Lucien as she says all of this. No idea why.

“Damn right, I was minding my own, until those bloody locks started appearing, then I tried to ask for—”

“Silence!” she shouts again, and I stop. “I will zip your mouth shut if you speak out of turn again.” Bloody hell! I shut my mouth with a snap. “These are not just padlocks, Troll,” The queen explains, slowly, as if she’s talking to a child. I’m fucking centuries older than she is, for fuck’s sake. I keep my trap shut, though, and let her continue. “They are love locks.”

“You what?” I frown. “What the ’ell are love locks?”

“I warned you!” The queen waves her hand. A bolt of light shoots from her finger.

“Madame!” Lucien cries out in shock as he jumps in front of me.

He is thrown back against my legs as the bolt of light hits his chest. I catch him and keep him on his feet. He looks up at me, and his wide blue eyes are filled with pain. I just gape. His lips have been replaced by zippers, and they are firmly zipped closed.

“Oh my gawd!” That can’t be pleasant at all. He stopped the spell from hitting me. “What the ’ell did you do that for?”

Lucien gives a helpless shrug and tries to smile but holds the side of his mouth with a groan.

Sol and Lucien's lock resized

I’ve also been sharing links to the other stories that are part of the Love Unlocked Anthology.

Today it is the turn of Debbie McGowan, the last but by no means the least of the authors of the seven stories that make up the anthology.

Debbie is the owner and manager of Beaten Track Publishing, which as far as I can see, involves no sleep as she edits, formats and uploads her way through all of our stories.  She can add awesome cover design to that extensive list of talents as well.  She also finds the time to write her own stories.  I’m pretty certain that in her universe there must be at least 35 hours in a day.  She’s my flipping hero.

Here is her contribution to the Love Unlocked Anthology:

Chain of Secrets by Debbie McGowan

DebbieMcGowan_COS

Josh and George have always shared the special bond of friendship. From days in primary school, to holidays spent riding their bikes along the canal, theirs is a promise to remain best friends forever.

But can that promise withstand the trials of adolescence, and the changes in their feelings towards each other?

NOTE: this is a fully stand-alone story, but it contains significant spoilers for anyone reading the Hiding Behind The Couch series, and should be read after The Harder They Fall (season three).

To find out more about Debbie and her books click here

Chain of Secrets and Locked in the Moment are released on 14th February and available for pre-order from Beaten Track Publishing.

Blog Tour Dates

Leave a Reply

