Meet the Characters 6

This week I’ve been blogging about my new story, Locked in the Moment, that is released on 14th February as part of the Love Unlocked Anthology from Beaten Track Publishing.

Yesterday I shared an excerpt from the story, focusing on when Sol and Lucien first met.

Today I would like to share a small excerpt from when they are a little better acquainted.

As I open my mouth to speak, my angry words are bitten back by a noise I’m not familiar with. I take a step closer, and I register what it is. A sob. Lucien is crying.

My heart feels like a rock in my chest as I watch his shoulders heave. I don’t know why he’s upset. Maybe it’s because of what he said, or maybe it’s just the fallout from such strong emotions leaving his body, but I do know I can’t watch him cry and do nothing. I close the gap and gently, tentatively place my hands on his shoulders.

“Lucien?” I’m awkward and clumsy and no fucking good at anything like this.
 
He tenses at my touch, and I think he’s going to pull away, but he doesn’t—the exact opposite, in fact. He turns, and I find my arms are suddenly full of sobbing fairy, his face buried in my shirt.

Awkwardness increases tenfold, as I wonder where the hell to put my hands. My arms are already wrapped around him. They went there of their own accord. My hands eventually settle on his back, stroking gently as I murmur softly to him.

“Alrigh’, Hairy, there, there.” Shit, how lame does that sound? I really am no good at this.

“I’m sorry, Sol. So sorry.” Lucien sobs.

His hands have snaked up my back, and they cling to my shirt like he’s afraid I’ll leave. Like I have anywhere else to be right now, like I’d want to be anywhere else.

“I did not mean anything I said to you. And I shouldn’t have left you alone in that park. Ce fut impardonnable.” The words tumble out of his mouth, accented by sobs and hiccoughs.

“Don’t you worry about it,” I murmur, wondering where the hell I’ve been hiding this gentle side all my life. “Water under the bridge, mate. Water under the bridge.”

Sol and Lucien's lock resized

Now I’d like to take the opportunity to tell you about one of the other six stories that are part of the Love Unlocked Anthology.

The Trap by Claire Davis and Al Stewart

CDAS_TheTrap

New job – sexy boss – fate – Art…

When Sal attends an open exam for an apprentice artist to work alongside the infamous Matthew Picard, the last thing he expects is to be the winner. But then his role is revealed and nothing is ever the same again. As he toils day and night on the unique sculpture, strange sensations begin to affect both him and the watching master artist.

Matthew Picard thought he was through with men and love. What he wanted was for Sal to help him create one final monstrous masterpiece – The Trap.

But as he observes his young apprentice, his focus shifts, and so do the very walls of the gallery.

Is it the beauty of art, or something more magical at work?

As the sculpture is created, a power is unlocked.

Can love save them, or will they be trapped forever?

To read more about Claire Davis and Al Stewart click here

The Trap and Locked in the Moment are released on 14th February, along with the rest of the anthology and are available for pre-order from Beaten Track Publishing.

Beaten Track Banner

Leave a Reply

